The PCH Club

Since I left Syracuse University, I have been dying to get back to dancing. Ballroom dancing and salsa dancing were such big parts of my life and made up almost all of my weekly exercising and suddenly it was all gone. On average, I full out danced about 10 hours a week. Though I did much research, I failed to find the right place and time to get back into my routine in New Jersey, but I was determined to get back to dancing once I move.

On my second day in California,  I got to meet eight of my future Long Beach State classmates. While at dinner, one of my classmates mentioned that she was going salsa dancing later on in the week. It was like music to my ears. I made sure we exchanged contact information and I made sure that I made an appearance. The event was at the PCH Club. The club is inside a Best Western hotel venue space just around the corner from the school. Although Carleigh (my classmate) couldn’t make it, I made sure I had enough fun for the both of us.

There’s dancing every Monday and Thursday nights. I was absolutely blown away by the level of talent from the dancers in the room. There were dancers of all ages, races, and sizes and everyone never ceased to amaze me. The evening also featured three guest performances (two bachata, one salsa) by local dance companies. They were some of the best performances I’ve seen since watching the pros dance ballroom.The Thursday night event had lots of salsa as well as bachata and a bit of cha cha. There is a free beginners bachata and salsa lesson right before the open dancing.

All in all, the PCH Club was a great start for my first night out on the town. The lack of recent dancing has definitely put me out of shape, but I know that I will soon get back into my old rhythm and pick up where I left off.  Although it can never replace the spot in my heart that I have for Bally Bay in Syracuse, it did a great job of jolting me back into the game.

One thought on “The PCH Club

  1. DON’T TURN INTO A COWGURL NOW LOL…I FEEL LIKE U’VE GROWN SOOO FAST I LOVE U SOOOO MUCH & WISH I COULD REWIND THE TIME BUT U R A VERY SUCCESSFULLY WOMAN & I TALK BOUT U ALL THE TIME & HOPE I GET A CHANCE 2 SPEND.LOTS.OF TIME WITH U B4 I GET OLD LOL(DNT LAUGH I’M NOT OLD LIKE MY BIG BROTHERS YET)!!!

Leave a Reply

